Imperfect Action to Keep Momentum

This blog post is in response to Natalie’s 10 Day Freedom Plan Blog Challenge Day 7

Day 7 Challenge: Pick one imperfect action you can take every day that will move you closer to the life you have envisioned. It could be 5 minutes of walking or meditation, or even just continuing the momentum of this challenge and keep writing 200 words a day on your blog. Pick that one imperfect action and write a post about why you chose the particular action and what you imagine it will be like if you do it every day for the next 30 days.

I am one of those self-admitted perfectionists that will keep working on a project, which could very well prolong or prevent the launch of it. In the past I have over-read, over-investigated, over-interviewed a subject. I never realized that is was a procrastination technique.

Beliefs from my consulting days have impacted me.  I was taught and trained to provide more than the client wanted – to exceed their expectations. To turn in a project that didn’t feel complete felt like I was short-changing my customer – ripping them off.  I knew that software companies typically have this business practice where they launch incomplete versions of their products and it always ticked me off a bit because I’d have to buy another version. Or, sometimes I thought  it was a way for software designers and product/project managers to ensure they had jobs.

From participating in this challenge over the past few days, I have learned that doing a little everyday has helped me stick to a routine/schedule and I can actually see my progress. I was also hesitant to participate in this challenge because my blog on WordPress didn’t appear to be complete. I just got it up and running and started blogging.  There are  still widgets I need to set up and modifications I need to add to the blog. I am rather impressed that I moved forward without letting the condition of my WordPress site stop me. So, I am curious to see if I just keep going, just keep writing a little everyday what I will accomplish…..to  focus on the task at hand and the momentum that it creates.

So, my imperfect action is to continue writing on my blog everyday for the next 30 days. I’m hoping by doing this, I will overcome my perfectionist tendencies as well as get over my fear of what people think .

Leave a Reply

