Finding My Tribe

This blog post is in response to Natalie’s 10 Day Freedom Plan Blog Challenge Day 6

Day 6 Challenge – Find 1 or 2 people who are living the kind of life you want to live, and whose tribe you’d love to be part of. Then write a short post about why you find them inspiring and the one question you would ask them if you met in real life.

I’m selecting people whose work I admire, however, I’m not sure if I know how they live their entire lives. I’m only familiar with the career part and maybe not their family or personal lives as much. And, Natalie,  I  understand why you’d want us to ask only one question – to make sure we wouldn’t monopolize our business crush’s time and also to make sure we ask an important question. But, there are so many things I’d want to know!

Kris Carr. One person that I respect and would want their kind of life is Kris Carr who produced and starred in the documentary, “Crazy, Sexy Cancer” about her journey to heal herself from cancer in a holistic way. I liked how she is authentic and true to herself. She branched out and wrote a book and then started a blog site based on the documentary and then in proliferated into a variety of media products with a strong, positive, healthy message.

If I met her in real life and I could only ask her one question it would be if she ever feels ill and what she does to counter act that. Or what else does she do during her day, besides eat healthy, to stay healthy. And, if I could ask her business related questions like how many people does she have on staff? What types of things does she outsource? What does she find the most challenging in running her business? What is her favorite thing to do running her business? What is one thing she would have done differently if she could start again?

See, it is hard just to ask one question

Any working mother. Another person I admire is any working mother. I know some professional and celebrity moms get offended when asked how they manage working and having a family…..they wonder why people don’t ask fathers the same question. Well, the reality is, is that mothers still do a majority of the work, so it makes sense that a working mom would want to learn from another working mom. We are only trying to learn from you!

I also wish these professional and celebrity moms would be honest about the amount of help they do have – with nannies, assistants, personal chefs, etc. Or if they have flexible schedules….or does the work schedule revolve around them? Then it would help other mom’s realize that maybe they shouldn’t expect themselves to do everything when other successful working moms really don’t do all the work anyway.

But, one working mom I would like to meet and ask questions of is Kimberly Snyder, another  healthy eating Internet sensation. She has a juice store, written books, has a great Internet presence and earned credibility by has coaching celebrities to eat healthier. Kimberly recently had a child, and what I want to know is how much time she spends on her business and how much time she allocates to her new son. I know this may be a touchy subject because mom’s are afraid to appear that they spend more time on their  work than with their child or vice versa. But, I it would be great to know. Or, what things in her business did she have to alter or change when her son arrived? Or, what are the things she delegates to others? How many people does she have working for her? What is the most profitable part of her business?

I  know, too many questions!

Natalie Sisson. And, lastly, but not least in any sense, I admire Natalie Sisson, because of the lifestyle business she created based on freedom….and, I’m not just writing this to “kiss up” to her in any fashion. I wouldn’t take the time to participate in this challenge if I didn’t respect her work, or want to learn from her to create a freedom lifestyle.

Here is what I respect –  I think it’s really difficult for people to be honest about what they do and don’t like when it comes to work. We are so programmed and conditioned by society to what we should like and do. And, yet, she had to courage to be honest with herself and take risks to be true to herself. I also like the fact that to reach her current position it didn’t happen overnight. That is was a journey – a process – where she honed in more precisely on what she wanted. It was a form of trial and error – an internal checking-in of what felt right. I would like to do the same thing: to be honest about my life and create a freedom lifestyle. I believe in my heart it is the next step I must take in life, and I want to find the courage to do so.

Now, if I got the chance to ask Natalie only one question – which for me would be impossible. But, here is a small group of questions that are inter-related. My question would be: How did she find the confidence to put herself – her true self – out into the world and what would she advise someone who feels more self-conscious in doing so? Was she ever nervous or self-conscious? If so, how did she get over it?

Leave a Reply

