Day – 4 – Unlocking Your Superpowers: What Am I Good At?

This blog post is in response to Natalie’s 10 Day Freedom Plan Blog Challenge Day 4

Today we are supposed to identify our superpowers and explain how they will help us realize our dream of living the freedom lifestyle.  One way Natalie suggested to learn about our superpowers was to think what we are good at – what may come easy for us – or ask friends and family what they thought we are good at.

My son said I made good peanut butter sandwiches, and that I am good at annoying him (especially when I tell him to shut off computer games). My husband said that I was very intuitive (I could tell when he did something wrong), had good analytical skills (that I over-analyze everything),  and had good organizational skills (I could organize everyone else’s life, but not those piles of papers in my office).  It was a bit of a let down that they didn’t say that I was good at “having fun” or “loving”.

Hmmmm. This wasn’t helping. So, I made a quick list of things that I do every day. Things that come easy to me. Things that I do quickly and efficiently. So, here they are:

  1. I am an excellent researcher, fast reader and writer. I like to find information that answers questions and solves problems. I write up little blurbs of my findings and share them with friends or family who may need the information or I apply the information to my own life. I think being a finder of information is an extension of my love of learning. And, I am pretty fast writer. This skill will help me gather whatever information I may need to build a business and build my lifestyle in whatever area I chose.  And, it could also involve writing…blogging.
  2. I am an analytical, critical, strategic thinker. I have the ability to pull information from a variety of resources to identify trends and develop plans. I’m an information synthesizer. This can help me think through and develop my business.
  3. I am also a good networker (okay, my husband did say, “excellent networker”). I am outgoing and congenial. I’m not afraid to meet or speak to people. And, I’m not afraid to speak up when things don’t feel right. I’m not afraid of conflict. This will help me because I will be able to meet people who can help me get my business going or give me advice about how to make my lifestyle happen. But I know from experience that I have to be careful as I am also an introvert and need to monitor/manage my energy levels.

The most rewarding part of doing this exercise today was the answers my friends and family sent to me.  They saw so many other parts of me that I didn’t realize or pay attention to – that I’m good at making family a priority, that I’m authentic, that I am tenacious. It was touching to be seen in a positive light – that they had faith in my abilities and talents. It was all affirming, empowering and validating.

Leave a Reply

