Rediscovering freedom

This blog post is in response to Natalie’s 10 Day Freedom Plan Blog Challenge Day 2 http://suitcaseentrepreneur.com/10DBC-Day-2

Today’s challenge asks us to blog about why freedom is important to me and why I want to live the Freedom Lifestyle. Maybe going into therapy would be easier! I’ve been pondering these questions all day. Feeling like I haven’t had  much personal freedom for the past several years, it was like putting on an old pair of jeans to see if they still fit.

I have always loved the concept of freedom. The ability to choose your path – to trust your spirit – that divine guidance or inner voice unique only to you that whispers your next idea or journey….that nudges you along in life.  When I was a little girl, that voice would declare to everyone that I never wanted to get married or have children. At the time, I considered those things a hurdle to freedom. I wanted a life of adventure! I loved studying the great explorers and read about their discoveries of distant lands. I wanted to learn, understand and be a citizen of the world. Freedom then meant adventure.

My affinity for “freedom” was reinforced when I learned that I had “the gap” between my life line and my headline, which meant it was inherent in my nature.  I learned this when I  studied palm reading. (What can I say? My grandmother had fortune telling tendencies that, I guess, rubbed off).  I learned that when a person has a gap between the origin of his/her life line (the line on the palm that starts just above the thumb and is between the thumb and index finger) and their head line (the line above the life line, unless the origins of the life line and head line are joined) it is an indication that the person values freedom and independent thinking. Yep, that is me. The girl who would make ties and wear them to school, eloped to the Seychelle Islands, moved 20 times in 25 years, and even homeschooled her child just because those seemed like the right choices for me and my family. Freedom  morphed from adventure into the freedom of choice….the freedom to live life on my terms.

And, that’s where I am today. Freedom to me is the ability to choose what’s important in your life – what you value – and create your life around those priorities.  At this point in my life, I want to create a freedom lifestyle for a few personal and professional reasons. Personally, having the flexibility to move where we want, when we want would allow for better educational opportunities for my son. There are other locations that have better schools and support for dyslexic children who tend to learn experientially. Also, we could move to better climates during the winter months for health reasons and family responsibilities. I also want to set an example for my son, so he knows that it’s okay to do something “different” from mainstream society –  to create the life you want. Especially with him being a “different learner” he may have to “think outside the box” to find his path in life. And, one way for me to set that example, is to live it – which fortunately coincides with my values. Professionally, one of my ideas is to develop an alternative healthcare blog or association – one that creates a membership with enough clout to influence legislation. And, having the flexibility to live in different locations allows me to build my expertise, my membership and network of contacts.

Leave a Reply

